Testimonials

At Kamahi Cottage, we pride ourselves on our visitors’ enjoyment. Nothing makes us happier than hearing positive feedback from our guests. Read some of the lovely things our guests have said about us below, and we hope we can one day add your glowing review to our website.

EXCELLENT
60 reviews on
Rowan Nicholson
Rowan Nicholson
2021-04-16
Had a wonderful overnight stay at the Kamahi Cottage. A comfy, cozy little getaway with a beautiful little garden. Breakfast was also delicious and Liz made sure we were right at home with everything you could think of covered ! Thanks so much for the stay
Read more
Grant Nicholson
Grant Nicholson
2021-04-16
Thanks for having us at the Kamahi Cottage - We had a lovey stay. The cottage was charming and spotlessly clean, with cake waiting for us on the table. Liz made sure we had everything we needed and more and breakfast was delicious! 😃
Read more
Julia Ricketts
Julia Ricketts
2021-04-09
Fantastic Easter at Kamahi! Yummy food, beautiful views and warm hospitality. Thanks for a great holiday
Read more
Allana Owen
Allana Owen
2020-11-25
Very comfortable and relaxing place to spend a few days. the fit-out was stylish and clever. the owner was more than lovely. the positioning is great for access to Masterton and the gorgeous surrounding area.
Read more
Amanda Wilson
Amanda Wilson
2020-11-19
Fantastic place to get away! The cottage was lovely, and the gardens and views were amazing. The meals were excellent and Liz is a great host! Thank you for a well needed escape.
Read more
Angeline Song
Angeline Song
2020-09-07
A healing balm for our weary souls in the aftermath of Auckland level 3 (second) lockdown! My husband and I were sorely needing some gracious rest and relaxation in a safe space, and we found it here in the Cottage's tranquil, luxurious setting, the warm, gentle hospitality of Elizabeth (Liz), invigorating conversations with Evan and Liz's exquisite breakfast choices which more than satisfied my French husband's palette! My four year old was over the moon when Liz's grand daughter Katherine shared the family's lambs, adorable pigs and goat with him, and he also highly rated lying in (or playing around) the hammock in the front deck while chatting with a bunch of curious cows. As a mum who is careful and conscientious about my family responsibly following the relevant Covid19 rules, the high standard of hygiene and cleanliness complete with provision of hand sanitizer helped put my mind at ease so that I could fully enjoy this much needed break.
Read more
Jacques Marnewick
Jacques Marnewick
2020-06-28
A wonderful break from the chaos and noise of day-to-day life. A cosy cottage and set in peaceful surrounds, it is an oasis of tranquility. Liz is a wonderful hostess and the care and food are second to none. Book it, you won’t regret it.
Read more
Timo Brooky
Timo Brooky
2020-06-07
Wow what an amazing cottage! Stayed overnight on a work trip and it was great to get stuck into work downstairs and also chill out. Liz had made some amazing cookies that I had to eat straight away haha. Wide range of tea selection coffee etc.. It is such a great use of space and it’s still very private with amazing views. Breakfast was amazing the bacon and eggs were restaurant worthy and so were the crepes. Shared some stories at breakfast time with Liz and Evan and it was amazing to hear great stories of the history of Otorohanga. Can’t wait to stay here again 😍😍
Read more
Andrew Potter
Andrew Potter
2020-03-07
The Kamahi cottage was without a doubt, the best place we stayed at in New Zealnad. The grounds were beautiful and Liz cooks some of the best food we have ever tasted. The owners are great and truly make you feel like part of the family. Can not recommend enough.
Read more
David Krzywicki
David Krzywicki
2020-02-27
My wife and I traveled from Auckland to Wellington and back over a two week period and stayed in a variety of lodgings. By far our favorite place was Kamahi Cottage. The cottage is quiet and secluded and the surrounding gardens are beautiful. Liz and Evan are warm and wonderful hosts. The bountiful breakfast was delicious. I’m glad we opted to have Liz’s home cooking for dinner. I highly recommend Kamahi Cottage and would love to stay there again.
Read more
More Google Reviews
EXCELLENT
263 reviews on
sjlavender
sjlavender
2021-01-20
Rural New Zealand at its finest! Liz and Evan are fabulous and generous hosts and understand the commitment required to run a luxury B&B. The little extras are 5-star and the hospitality best to none. Would absolutely recommend, is the sort of B&B to sit and breathe and rest and soak up the views, thanks again Liz and Evan we had a fabulous stay and highly recommend.
Read more
103Ted103
103Ted103
2020-09-05
Forget Everything and Watch the World go by... This was the perfect place for us feel like we got away without having to go very far. We did not have to worry about anything with Liz and Evan being the perfect hosts. We highly recommend Liz's fantastic cooking and this beautiful spot.
Read more
Baynard
Baynard
2020-03-17
A great place to stay! This is a truly lovely cottage hideaway, very comfortable, well equipped and within easy reach of the caves. Liz and Evan were very charming and welcoming hosts. Liz's breakfasts and dinners were delicious. After a busy day of sightseeing we would thoroughly recommend the comfy hammocks on the veranda to unwind over a glass of wine and enjoy the amazing views.
Read more
Jan B
Jan B
2020-02-24
Avkopplande boende Underbart boende med ett mycket trevligt värdpar. Ligger nära grottorna Waitomo och Kivihuset i Otorohanga. Frukosten var väldigt väl tilltagen och god. En fantastiskt utsikt både från stugan och frukostbordet.
Read more
Tim F
Tim F
2020-02-23
Kamahi Cottage. Authentic B&B We stayed in Kamahi Cottage for one night and loved it.The Cottage was wonderful, self contained and well designed. Liz and Evan were lovely hosts and great fun to talk to. Breakfast was delicious. The views from the veranda and swinging chairs are outstanding. Its five stars from us😊👍
Read more
Nora C
Nora C
2020-01-29
Luxurious accommodation in an idyllic setting The cottage is comfortable and our hosts delightful. Breakfast was delicious with home made preserves and bread along with fresh fruit. We chose a continental breakfast but Liz will make what you like. We also enjoyed the option of dinner with Evan and Liz. She is an excellent cook and we highly recommend this option. The cottage is secluded with breathtaking views of the valley.
Read more
AT35
AT35
2020-01-22
NZ holiday We had such a beautiful time at Kamahi cottage. Liz was amazing host and the accommodation lovely. In the late afternoon we wondered through Liz beautiful garden and ate dinner on the veranda watching the sunset. Wish we stayed an extra night, Thank you Liz for sharing your beautiful property and your generous hospitality.
Read more
Louise Stovold
Louise Stovold
2019-11-22
Idyllic Stay My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying at this tranquil, peaceful cottage in the heart of New Zealand's amazing countryside. Liz and Evan made sure we had everything we needed to make our short stay perfect. Just sitting on the porch, gazing out over the vista was enough to lower anyone's blood pressure! Bathrobes, slippers, homemade goodies, beverages, movies, and more were provided for us to use. For our breakfast the next morning, Liz had everything laid out beautifully in their stunning home. A full, hot breakfast, cooked to order, made sure we were ready for our day ahead. Our only complaint is that we didn't get to spend enough time in this beautiful haven.
Read more
hohaiali
hohaiali
2019-11-04
Beautiful rural NZ with all the trimmings. Slightly off the main road - only 10 - 12 minutes - totally worth the extra kms. Fabulous rural location and delightful accommodation. Tastefully decorated, immaculate, comfortable bedding, great shower / bathroom. Liz & Evan are lovely hosts, excellent company and the food is exceptional. We chose to have the 3 course dinner and it was as good as any restaurant. If you are looking for comfort and that touch of something special in NZ we say don't hesitate.
Read more
MyKala Zieber
MyKala Zieber
2019-10-23
The perfect get away! My husband and I really wanted to stay in a cabin on our honeymoon and this place was more than I expected! Beautifully kept, this little cottage was the perfect place to take a break from all our sightseeing. It was comfortable inside and out with hammock chairs on the front porch and a beautiful view of the sunset. Breakfast was amazing and my husband says it was the best breakfast we had the entire trip.
Read more
More Trip Advisor Reviews